40: sugar withdrawals and acknowledging God

I have the biggest headache right now as I write this. My body is use to 4 cups of caffeine a day, not to mention all the supped up ketchup and hamburger buns. First day wasn’t too bad I guess. My meals weren’t planned out or balanced, and of course with life getting in the way, I had to take Andrea to a birthday party. I ate a slice of pizza, had a diet Coke and a small cup of Blue Belle ice cream (vanilla). I’m hoping that tomorrow we can make it to the super market to buy everything I need for the week. I’m not looking forward to all the withdrawal pains that are coming, but you gotta do what you gotta do.

………………………………………………..

I also began re-reading The Purpose Driven Life this morning. Day one was about how this life isn’t all about me, but about God. Yet I wonder…. How do you take something as self consuming as weight loss and make it into something that is all about God? How does one balance making sure God is first in all your ways, in something that is only about you? I am struggling with the concept, but I am learning. Proverbs 3:5-6 says,“Trust in the LORD with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.” I am learning that, yes, it is my journey, my life, my choices… but the way I make it about Him is by including God in my decisions.

Learning to live a life of true balanced health and a life of loving God is learning to live a life of self-denial. Now, many people want to tell you that when you diet you shouldn’t deny yourself things because it causes bingeing later. Binge eating, I believe, comes from a life that has not yet learned to be self-controlled and disciplined. Some times, when you want to live, you have to say no to a greasy burger…no matter how much you love it (and I do!). I want to live more. Some times, loving God means staying home than going out with you friends drinking…. and I love to drink beer and wine, but I want to love God more. Everything we do (eating or drinking or whatever) is to bring glory to God. Also, people are watching the moves we make. What message are we sending? I want to be like that cathedral I wrote about last. I want to be a balanced person, a person of beauty, of interest and of inspiration. God, I want to acknowledge you even in the most insignificant of decisions… because this is the body and the life YOU have given me; and I only get one.

So to refresh….Crack House or Cathedral?

Crack House

St. Paul's Cathedral

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

Leave a Reply

