37: letting go little by little

My body wants to control my will. It wants to sleep and eat as much as it wants, and I let it. It feels good to do nothing and veg out. Remember when I was talking about our bodies being a temple? Our bodies were made to be fit, full of energy to work and it is a home, where the Holy Spirit of God wants to reside. If we live a life slaves to our every craving, we wont live long and we wont know God. We will be held accountable for all that God has given us, including our bodies. So if we’re going to run this “race”, we have to be of sound mind and body.

This world tells us to “Eat and drink! Tomorrow we die.” As if to say, tomorrow doesn’t matter, so live how you want. We are living a lie if we believe we wont answer for every word or every action. Day 4 of The Purpose Driven Life teaches that we’re made for eternity. We don’t understand the consequences of a life style that lets us run amuck. And though I was made for eternity I don’t want to get there a minute sooner than planned. I don’t want to miss a life with my loves because a stroke, heart attack or diabetes took me away. My life has to be more than a “#3, large size with coke.” I gave life to Andrea. I want to see her live it. I share my life with Sean. I want to make sure he gets a fair deal.

What needs to stop in my life is the control I render to my body. What needs to start is the life that God has dreamed for me. In our nature, we fear for God to have control, but what we don’t realize is that nothing goes on without His knowledge and doing anyway! He can either lead us or hand us over to our cravings. Either way, He’s in control.

God, I stop running from you and running the show. I let go so you can have your way. Thank you because I am never forced. You are in control, but you are not controlling.

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

Leave a Reply

