14-12: get’r done

My 40 days of Health and Purpose are starting to wind down. It’s amazing what you can learn when you choose to focus on something. I know that once the 40 days are over, that the journey isn’t over. Really, it’s just beginning. I know that’s so cliche, but it’s been a long time coming for me to really start working on myself. It’s so much more than just dieting and shedding a few pounds. Sometimes we don’t realize how certain things can take over our lives, become entities of their own. The weight I carry around my belly isn’t just fat. It’s a whole other monster.

Tapping into my emotions has been interesting, to say the least. I’ve been playing a game of “Where’s the lie” to uncover what really is the matter. The lies are the root, the strong holds that keep us from acheiving what we know is possible. When we replace the lie for the truth, it releases strength and you are able to regain a control. I’ve discovered many lies, and I know that there are more to unearth. Losing weight is not so easy when you have to build discipline, character and remove the stigma that you “can’t do” something. BUT IT CAN BE DONE! That’s a lie that I have been working against; that things can’t be done. They can.

I can come up with some pretty good excuse to not do something. It hurts. It’s too hard. I’ll never be able to do it. Yet, to my own amusement, I have been working out and doing things that I have never wanted to do, for fear of pain. I have to keep telling myself the truth. Workingout can and will be painful, but pain doesn’t last forever. I read something that said something like, “Everything has an end. Even a workout.” And that keeps me going! Doing 3 sets of 20 lunges can seem like an eternity, but once you get them done…guess what? They’re done! So that has been my mantra. Not just get’r done, but it’s done!

..and then it's done!

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

Leave a Reply

