7-6: rewiring my brain has paid off

I’m riding high on my workout addiction. I haven’t been working out at a gym because I have no membership and also because my trainer and I haven’t been able to get our schedules in sync. However, that hasn’t stopped me from working out on my own. Adrianne provides me with routines to do at home when we can’t meet, and they are killers! I love them! It takes me a bit to get motivated at home I must say. There are so many distractions at home: TV, computer, sofas, comfy bed! My husband has been good about giving me grief if I take too long to get started…love him for that! Once I get moving though, I just want to do my best to make Sean, Adrianne and myself proud!

Sean and I laugh because I make some crazy sounds while I’m working out at home. I wont use his colorful description, but I do a lot of grunting and moaning just to get through the pain. My knees have been bothering me this week, so jumping jacks, even lunges have been a no-go. Oddly enough, I can do squats….so my butt has definitely gotten its fair share of attention!

Last night, I made up my own routine using exercises that Adrianne had already provided. I put on my Pitbull radio station on Pandora and killed it! I can’t stop using that phrase: I’m killin’ it! Gonna kill it! Holla at ya girl for killin tonight’s work out! Haha! It may be a tab bit annoying, but I’m so happy that I don’t care! I’m working hard and my body is dramatically showing the work that I have put in to it! So yeah…I’M KILLIN’ IT SUCKAS! 😀

I must admit, fear started to settle in again last night, after I finished working out. I told my husband that I’m scared this feeling may go away. I’m so happy, and I’m getting better and better…I just don’t want to deceive myself in to getting comfortable. I have been working hard on rewiring my brain with food and exercise. My body and brain have responded well, without too much resistance. But I know that it’ll just take 2 or 3 days of slipping in to old habits to ruin everything!

I know that I can’t be excited all the time to work out. Am I strong enough to keep myself motivated? Maybe the key is to just keep moving, no matter where or how long. I won’t always be able to go to the gym. It may be too hot or too cold to go to the park or walk around the neighborhood. So, I’ll lock myself in the room, put on some music and just move my body like a lunatic! Any way to burn calories counts! So just keep moving! I gotta keep on moving, and not let doubt occupy space in my mind! I can keep on doing it! I’m doing it ALREADY! I am not going to let this rewiring go to waste..or waist! 😉

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

Leave a Reply

