1: me, myself and Christ

Finishing up my last 40 days of change, has me doing another 40 days! This time, along with continuing my weight loss journey, I will be working on my relationship with God. Remember that we are body, mind and spirit. All of these should be connected and on the same page. When they’re not, the whole system is out of sorts. God is always first, but He knows how important our minds and bodies are. He created them! The crux is putting complete trust in His hands to connect them all. In the first 40 days, I was unearthing a lot of lies that held me back from really getting off my butt and moving it! Now I have to find the lies that keep me from really relying on my Savior, Jesus.

A few weeks ago I wrote about quitting vs conviction, and what was really pushing me to quit all the time was the fear of sticking to my guns. It is the same with God. I love God because He truly loves me. Don’t ask me why, but He loves me. He of all people, deserves my love (and then some) in return. My love is weak, but totally real. It lacks the fiery zeal to pursue the knowledge of Christ with my whole heart. I yearn to remedy that.

As with weight loss, it requires planning and following through. Salvation is free, but a relationship costs. It costs because it requires effort, time and faith. All relationships require this, so a relationship with Jesus is no different. And that’s where I find my first lie!

I love to put God in a box separated from all other things in life. I always forget that He created me and because of Him, I live and move and breathe! I am at His mercy to function everyday of my life! How can I keep Him here and everything else………………………………………………….way over here? Doesn’t make any sense to me, and yet, I continually keep Him at arms reach for everything else in my life. I know it’s out of fear that I keep God at bay. Conviction is sacrifice. It is painful. It can be lonely…….and I don’t want any of those things. But I can’t be a size 8 or close to the heart of God without ANY of it!

The One who wants me to be healthy and happy, is the same One that longs for my every affection. He’s so gracious to help me get up and exercise… I have to repent for being so selfish and arrogant. God is beyond worthy of my time. He created time for crying out loud! So, an adjacent journey begins. Continuing with my healthy life style and a search for a godly one, as well.

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

2 Responses to 1: me, myself and Christ

  1. Auris Montalvo says:

    Relationships, with anyone, does take TIME, EFFORT and FAITH( when referring to God) but also, takes taking risks. What do I mean by this? In order to have a relationship with someone you have to show them who you really are, flws and all. That’s part of the risk, we don’t want to get hurt and that means even if this brings on healing. Only God can truly heal us but in order for Him to do this He MUST open wounds or re open old ones in order for us to heal and have a HEALTHY relationship with Him.

  2. Pingback: turning my health journey into a spiritual journey (my battle with extremes) « Resurrecting the Girl

Leave a Reply

