35: d’oh! (lesson learned)

I think this pictures expresses all that I want to say for today! I made a calorie boo-boo at lunch. Just a about 50 minutes ago, to be exact.

Lunch time was upon me. I wasn’t all too hungry yet, nor was I feeling any kind of hankering. I was in “lunch-funk”. I didn’t feel like going home and eating (or making for that matter) a tuna sandwich. I didn’t want to eat Subway either. I had that yesterday. I knew for a fact that I could not and would not eat any kind of fast food. So as I drove up the road I decided on Quizno’s.

I ordered myself a small turkey, bacon guacamole sub. My first mistake. Then I decided to purchase an Izze Clementine drink. My second mistake. Then, to top it off, I ordered a small broccoli and cheese soup. First “D’oh!”: I paid $9 and some change for lunch. Makes me want to smack myself when I think about that.

So I get to work and start munching. I scarf down my sub. It’s so delicious. I sip on my drink. It’s so delicious. I start on my soup. It’s so delicious. Oh! You know what I should right now, before I finish. I should input my calories so far on Live Strong. <—- So naive and clueless I am. Turkey Sub: 423 calories, 1789mg Sodium. Oh well, that’s over and done with. Sparkling Clementine: 120 calories, 27g of Sugar. WHAT?! I knew this..why in the world did I pick up this evil drink?! I only drank half and dumped the rest. Broccoli Cheese Soup: 140 calories, not bad considering it has cheese in it. The soup was the least of my problems. When I input all the calories, including my breakfast I would have consumed 1188 calories! So I dumped the rest of my drink and threw away a little more than half of my soup;  only saving myself 130 calories!

“D’oh!” I could smack myself! I shoulda gone home for lunch. I shoulda eaten the tuna. Now I gotta make sure I get a good burn. Life is filled with shoulda, coulda, woulda’s. But now that it’s done. It’s done. Lesson learned. I can’t afford to make mistakes like this with the 14 day mission, but this is a life long journey. I can’t take it back, but I can learn for next time.

 Walking track here I come. You have permission to kick my butt.

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

One Response to 35: d’oh! (lesson learned)

  1. alfreda says:

    It’s all good. We’re all human. 🙂 The key is to keep on truckin’ baby!

    Alfreda

Leave a Reply

