36: feelings, nothing more than feelings

I felt a lot yesterday. I didn’t feel like going home and making lunch. I didn’t feel like working out (which I did any way!). Feel. I didn’t feel like it. When I say it, it sounds like I’m whining. “I don’t feeeel like it.” It’s like I got a Kardashian in my head.

It is true that no one (not even yourself sometimes) can make you do anything you don’t want to do. If you really don’t want to do something, you won’t do it, and vice versa. With that being said though, we cannot let ourselves be run by our emotions. Following my “feelings”, my emotions, has gotten me in to a lot of trouble.

We say,”Follow your heart!” We promote making decisions based on emotions instead of reality or practicality. The Bible says that the heart is deceitful.(Jeremiah 17:9) It also says that we should protect our hearts because life issues are stirred by it.(Proverbs 4:23) Our hearts can sway us and at the same time betray us.

I’m still learning to weigh the consequences of my decisions before I make them. Being lead by whims can lead into habits that are hard to break. So let’s take moments to pause for a second and think things through. Don’t let yourself fall victim to a betraying emotion. Next time you feel something, think about that something!

I’m trying to make wise choices, while trying to reconcile my brain and my heart. I pray that you can do the same.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

Leave a Reply

