12: staying motivated

Seven days into the new year…How are you doing? What are you doing so far to make 2012 better than 2011? I’m still steady on my weight loss journey. Nothing exciting to report on from the last time I was here. I’m still trying to find ways to stay motivated, which I believe is one of my resolutions. I’m trying to keep my workouts interesting and fresh. I’ll be starting Zumba next week, which I’m very excited about. It’s a great way to get some cardio in, and it’s so much fun! Also, I started walking with some ladies from my office. It’s nice to have people to chat with while on the track. Some days I have trouble getting around the track just once. So talking and laughing is a good way to get my mind off how I’m feeling.

That’s the biggest reason I want to keep finding ways to stay motivated. Emotions are tough to battle. Not impossible to defeat, but definitely tough to battle against. I was thinking again this morning about my goals, and though I have weight loss goals, weight loss cannot be my ultimate goal. Because once you lose the weight, then what? I believe that’s the number one reason why people can’t keep weight off once they lose it. There is no next step. They achieved their goal and there’s nowhere else to go. I have come to love working out. It isn’t always fun, but I love the way I feel. I love feeling strong. I love feeling energetic. I love actually feeling lighter and smaller! Losing the 80 lbs I need to lose is only the beginning.  maintenance is the real journey! I’ll cross that bridge when I get there, though.

I love these 40 day rounds. Every 40 days I decide on a new goal, and in between those days I find myself making mini goals to accomplish. My goal for these forty days is to be a solid size 16. Not in between 16 and 18, but a straight up 16! So far I have one pair of work pants and a button down shirt that are a 16. They fit alright, still a little snug, but definitely wearable. I don’t look stuffed like a sausage! lol Right now for my mini goal I’m just trying to get off the 11 pound hump. I’m 211 right now. I want to be 210 by Tuesday! I’ve been eating pretty good and getting my workouts in, but I struggle staying motivated because I’m building muscle, so the scale doesn’t move very much. I keep trying to remember that weight is just a number, but when you’re trying to get down to a healthy weight, it can be frustrating a bit. So that’s where I am right now. Moving forward slowly but surely but moving!

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

Leave a Reply

