caution..reset

I am a two days over the half way mark of this 40 day round. What else is there to say, but that it has been a total bust thus far. I planned this round out beautifully! I had all my workouts written out on my calendar, scheduled. I had my food ready. I was determined. Remember? I was supposed to be 200 pounds by the 1st of March. Bahahahaha!  Yeah, that’s not going to happen this time around. I digress though; let me start from the beginning.

As I said, I had everything planned out. I even joined the gym! I worked out hard my first workout there. I was killing it on the treadmill doing intervals. But by the time I was done, I could feel the creeping on of sickness. My throat was feeling sore. By the next morning, my tonsils were swollen, I had a fever, and that was that. I had to recuperate. I was pretty sick for about 4 or 5 days. So I didn’t workout at all. Then when I finally started getting some strength back, I still had to take it pretty easy. That was a speed bump all in itself. However…..

Ugh…I was sick, and when I’m sick I can’t eat salad! I want comforting burgers, fries, milk shakes….You can see where this is going, right? Needless to say that my eating habits went completely AWOL. I can’t believe it. Three weeks completely wasted, and I have nothing to say for myself. I gained 2 pounds. So instead of 7 pounds to get through to hit my goal mark, now I’m back up to almost 10. I am thankful though, that this time around, my mind-set is different. I will not beat myself up (more than I already have), and I will just hit that reset button.

Oh, those dreaded excuses and comfort zones. What first comes to my mind is a Bible verse that reads, “Don’t be so naive and self-confident. You’re not exempt. You could fall flat on your face as easily as anyone else.” (1 Corinthians 10:12 the message) I was feeling myself pretty hard up until this point. I was thinking that I had it. I was a health queen! Boy, did I disprove that. However, the point of this verse isn’t to make one feel bad, but to open our eyes to truth. No one is exempt from temptation or weakness. Anyone of us can make a bad decision at any point. We always have to be aware. We always have to have a plan. We always have to be responsible.

So beware of those speed bumps and comfort zones. Always have a plan of attack! And if you happen to go off track, HIT THAT RESET BUTTON!

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

Leave a Reply

