trigger eating

Emotional eating, stress eating, eating ’cause you’re bored… We all eat for a reason. These reasons are some times called triggers. What propels you to eat things that you shouldn’t? What propels you to eat just to eat? Technically, all the reasons I listed are considered emotional eating. The emotion that triggers me is Boredom.

Boredom is an emotional state experienced when an individual is left without anything in particular to do, and is not interested in their surroundings. Thanks, Wikipedia!

I get snack-y (as I like to say) when I have nothing to do. If it’s slow at work, I want to raid the kitchen. If it’s a lazy day at home, I’m searching out pantries, freezers and cookie jars. I’m actually trying to keep the kitchen raid at bay, as I type. The day is dragging, our grocery shopping is done, watched a movie with the family…and now I’m watching the clock. There is nothing left to do really. I did a lap around the kitchen inspecting over-sized bags of chips, a cooking jar, and playing that weird game with the fridge. You know the game; when you open the door expecting something magical to happen. I open the door and stare hard into the fridge hoping to find something “satisfying” to eat. However, I’m not trying to satisfy hunger because I’m not hungry! I’m bored. So, so bored!

So I grabbed my Brita water bottle (maybe I’m just thirsty), and I plopped down in front of my lap top to share my predicament. It’s too hot outside right now to go for a walk on the levee, and I don’t have enough time to go to the gym before going to church with my family. I could use some motivation, right now, to keep my eye on the prize. How do you avoid emotional eating?

About Alejandra
I am a mother and wife. I work a regular 9-5. I love writing, whether if it's to vent, inspire or to just be creative. I can come from many different angles, but one thing is for sure. It's all me.

Leave a Reply

